Badminton, Gloucestershire. GL9 1AU


School Governors

Our Role

The primary role of the Full Governing Body (FGB) is to work in partnership with the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team to maximise the learning opportunities and outcomes for all pupils and to implement the School Development plan which drives school improvement.

Governing Body Composition

The formal Instrument of Governance provides for 12 governors which consists of:-

3 Foundation Governors; appointed by the Diocese of Gloucester

1 Local Authority Governor; appointed by the Local Authority

4 Parent Governors; proposed and elected by parents and carers of children at the school

2 Staff Governors (including the Headteacher where s/he chooses to be a Governor and 1 of the schools staff, proposed and elected by staff at the school)

2 Co-opted Governors: appointed by the Governing Body

The term of office for each Governor is 4 years from date of appointment or election.  Governors are selected based on their skills and experience.

Foundation Governors are appointed by the Diocese of Gloucester to bring to the Governing body an informed regard of the Church in the foundation of the school, to ensure that its Christian ethos is preserved and developed, and the religious worship reflects the tradition of the Church of England.

Co-opted governors are appointed by the Governing Body and are people who, in the opinion of the governing body, have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

Once in place each Governor plays a full and equal part in the running and management of the school.  Nobody is there to represent their particular group.  The majority of Governors do not have an educational background, however, they bring experience and expertise from their home and work lives which the school finds invaluable.

Our Governors are:

NameDate of AppointmentDate of Stepping DownType of GovernorTerm of OfficeBusiness and Pecuniary Interests
Jill Bendeaux01/11/17Foundation11/17-10/21
Michael Bendry01/10/16Foundation10/16-09/20
Rebecca Clark01/09/17Parent Elected09/17-08/21
Iona Cooper20/06/18Parent Elected06/18-06/22
Charles Harris01/09/15Associate09/15-08/19
Sue Hope23/05/18LA05/18-05/22Member of the parish council
Ken Hull19/05/16Parent Elected05/16-05/20
Deborah Neame31/08/15Co-opted08/15-08/19
Mike Riches01/09/18Staff Governor (Headteacher)09/18-
Adam Sage01/09/17Parent Elected09/17-08/21
Jane Whitworth31/08/15Co-opted08/15-08/19
Christine Wilson01/09/17Staff Governor09/17-08/21
Claire Mullens05/10/1610/04/18Parent Elected10/16-10/20

When compared to a business, the Governing Body is the Board of Directors with the Headteacher being the Managing Director.  Many responsibilities are delegated to the Headteacher:-

Setting the school’s aims, vision and values

  • Planning the school’s long term future;
  • Promoting high standards of education and achievement
  • Appointing senior staff, including the Headteacher
  • Setting, agreeing and overseeing budgets
  • Setting school policies

The table below shows which Governor is a member of which sub-committee and their attendance at meetings for academic year 2017/18 and 2018/19 (as at October 2018):

Please note: Not all Governors are required to attend all meetings. Some Governors joined or stepped down during an academic year, therefore the maximum number of meetings will be reduced.

NameFGBFinance and PersonnelStandards, Teaching & LearningFoundation
Jill BendeauxY (3 of 3)Y (6 of 8)NNY (2 of 3)Y (3 of 4)Y (2 of 2)Y (1 of 1)
Michael BendryY (3 of 3)Y (9 of 9)Y (2 of 2)Y (4 of 4)NNY (2 of 2)Y (2 of 2)
Rebecca ClarkY (2 of 3)Y (8 of 9)Y (2 of 2)Y (3 of 4)NN/ANN/A
Iona CooperY (3 of 3)N/AY (1 of 2)N/ANN/ANN/A
Charles HarrisNNNNNNNN
Sue HopeY (2 of 3)Y (7 of 9)Y (2 of 2)Y (4 of 4)NNNN
Ken HullY (3 of 3)Y (8 of 9)NNY (3 of 3)Y (5 of 5)NN
Deborah NeameY (3 of 3)Y (9 of 9)NNY (2 of 3)Y (2 of 5)NN
Mike RichesY (3 of 3)N/AY (2 of 2)N/AY (3 of 3)N/AN N/A
Adam SageY (3 of 3)Y (5 of 9)NN/AY (0 of 3)Y (3 of 5)NN/A
Jane WhitworthY (1 of 3)Y (7 of 9)NNY (2 of 3)Y (3 of 5)NN
Christine WilsonY (3 of 3)Y (7 of 9)NN/AY (2 of 3)Y (3 of 5)NN
Claire MullensN/AY (4 of 5)N/AY (2 of 2)N/AN/AN/AN/A


Execution of Responsibilities

The Governing Body elect a Chair and Vice-Chair bi-annually with the term of office being 2 years. Our Governing Body is supported by 3 sub-committees – Finance & Personnel; Standards, Teaching & Learning and Foundation & Ethos. There is also a Premises working party which reports to the Finance & Personnel Committee.

Finance & Personnel Committee: responsible for budgets and finances, staffing, pay, performance management, Health & Safety and receiving reports from the Premises Working Party. This committee also monitor the spending of the Pupil Premium and Sports Funding grants and complete an annual evaluation – the Schools Financial Value Standard (SFVS) confirming that all processes and procedures are sound and that the school leadership team and the governing body appropriately ensure financial control and best value in all aspects of school affairs.

Standards, Teaching & Learning Committee: responsible for all matters relating to the delivery and monitoring of the curriculum, achievement and attainment and monitoring progress of the School Development plan.  This committee also monitors behavior within the school.

Foundation Committee: responsible for promoting a Christian ethos within the school, to monitor the content and impact of RE and Collective Worship; to ensure the pupils spiritual, moral, social and cultural development is nurtured throughout the school; to promote the links between the school, the local Churches in the parish and the wider community and to oversee the presence of Christian signs and symbols in and around the school.

Contacting Governors

If you wish to contact a Governor, for any reason, please do so via the school office.

Contact Us

Hawkesbury Primary School
High St
Badminton GL9 1AU